To Put Away Childish Things


I’ve long bemoaned the fact that I can never be fortunate enough to have a peaceful bus ride when taking public transportation to and from work – this afternoon was no different.  Two proud and boisterous individuals were attempting to flare their feathers for a girl sitting across from them and engaged in some self-flattering conversation.  One point that was made was something I took great exception to, but kept to myself, determined to write about it later.

“Boys never grow up,” one of them said, “they just learn more complicated ways to use toys.”  They cited as proof the excitement over Legos that continues long past adolescence, as well as various video gaming systems.

A popular quote in society is 1 Corinthians, Chapter 13, Verse 11:

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.”

This would not be the first time that I have disagreed with the Good Book.  I, myself, still have my fair share of toys… my collection of childish things.  Underneath my television, I have an original NES, a Nintendo 64, a Playstation 1 (with Stealth Mod chipset and custom clear-purple casing), and a LaserDisc player that I bought solely for the original unaltered Star Wars.  I have no reservation in admitting that my love of these now stems from my love of them as a child.

So, on one hand, you have loud college-aged fellows claiming that “boys never grow up”, and on the other, you have the passages stating that men put away their childish things.

As usual, I believe that happiness is found in the middle-ground.

Though I have these playthings and hold them dear, I also see to it that my responsibilities are well met before dusting them off.  I maintain a decent job, I provide food, shelter, advice, and comfort for my family before I seek refuge in the killing of Dr. Wiley through the glory that is Mega Man 2.

When confronted with real life obstacles, I do not take refuge within my childhood state, but when time allows, I do take great enjoyment in my recreation.

I have known many individuals of all ages that have a more difficult time with this distinction, though.  Middle-aged men that lose themselves and all they might hold dear to retreat into the toys and amusements of their choosing.  I submit that though their age betrays the notion, these individuals are still boys.

It is on that note that I state my final thought on the matter:  Not all boys grow up, but when a boy does become a man, he should still love playing with Legos.

Leave a Reply

