AST Gateway Manager Needs Your Attention


I’m writing this as a preventative measure to hopefully ensure that other technicians don’t have to go through what I have gone through over the last several weeks.  Long story short:

If you are running AST and everything on the server looks fine, your Gateway Manager is Authenticated, yet your clients wind up with “There has been a network error”, “Please use the Gateway Manager to check on the status of the Diagnostic Gateway”, and lastly, “Gateway Manager Needs Your Attention”, ask yourself this question:  “Am I running this across VLANs?”

Apparently, if the answer is “Yes, I’m running this across VLANs – don’t be silly!  Why would any large organization with a reputable data center hosting its servers in a mixed environment operate any differently?”, Apple’s answer is “Tough.”

That’s right – after pouring through logs, burning AST to the ground and rebuilding it back up a dozen times, and in general pulling my hair out, I finally decided to get Apple on chat and do a tandem dive.  Turns out, the server was fine, it’s just that AST is not supported across VLANs.  Even though Netbooting is.

You know, I get why Apple changed the game up a bit.  I do.  This is some solid protection for the company against people putting in claims on Applecare-covered hardware, but sending in parts from another non-covered system.  Good on them.  However, when this not only becomes the primary troubleshooting option for technicians, but the sole, mandatory option, it had damned well better work.

Everything about AST is sketchy.  One bit of troubleshooting I got impossibly hung up on is that even though I had installed version 1.3.2 and everything indicated 1.3.2, one line in the logs kept saying 1.2.3.  A logical tech like myself would think that some manner of preference, config file, or keychain was still residing on the server from a previous install, and that could easily be the culprit.  Especially when there is no mention of VLANs in any AST documentation and the Netboot service is fine… it must be the server config at that point, right?  RIGHT?

Turns out, that line “current version is 1.2.3” is actually pulled from Apple’s servers referencing a txt file that Apple never bothered to update.  Check it out here for yourself if you don’t believe me (SUPPLEMENTAL EDIT – as of 02/27/12, this text file was updated, but only to say “Version 1.3” – nothing else) .  Anyone running AST 1.3.1 or 1.3.2 is getting this little nugget in their logs.  Fun stuff.  Especially during troubleshooting.

It also didn’t help that many of the errors that I referenced here (with purposeful detail) don’t bring up any useful hits on Google.  I found ONE Apple Discussion where a bewildered individual was asking the same questions I was, but nobody ever answered.

So, it is my hope that this blog post hits the interwebs, and can be seen by other people trying to troubleshoot their servers.

Personally, I was a lot happier when Apple just had hardware test DMGs to download.  I’m especially happier with Dell’s DOSD system:  “Here’s the system serial number, I found this error code by hitting F12 on the computer, now gimme my part”.

7 thoughts on “AST Gateway Manager Needs Your Attention

  1. Hi Mike,

    Thanks very much for posting this. You did save me time. I’ve only spent part of a couple of days trying to iron out the DHCP/Netboot portion and am only now getting down to troubleshooting the AST part. But at least I can stop trying!

    Cheers!
    Jimmy

  2. Did anyone ever figure out a solution for this? We have been fighting with this since last year. Just put this on a new Mac Mini Server and the only way it works is if we connect the Mac to a small switch that the server is on too. Can’t use it in our other buildings. Very frustrating.

  3. Hey guys, have you any progress with running AST via VPN or something?
    I’m going to set up a kind of Ethernet over IP bridging to make it possible.
    Our clients are not happy to ship all their MacBooks for test to get a power adapter replacement.

    • David,

      The only way I can think to do that is to have a laptop set up with OSX Server, Netboot, and AST GWM installed on it.

      There might be a better way using VPN or some such, but this seems like the most solid.

      • That’s what I’m trying to do on a laptop as I need my netboot and DHCP server to be portable. I still have to contend with the vlan and the ports that are being blocked. I’ve got 40 iMacs to run the video test on before I can send back the recalled Radeon cards. …. and it just sits there “Negotiating with Server.”

Leave a Reply

