Pork Place


More dealings with our favorite porcine friend – while the Cranberry Pork Loin resides in the fridge, waiting for its moment to shine, I made another slow cooker pork recipe – this one was decidedly different.  Hankering for a flavor that I haven’t had since moving here from San Diego, this recipe for Slow Cooker Guisado Verde caught my eye.

Turns out, it was delicious.  I invited my downstairs neighbors over to help me with this huge batch of food and we had a great time last night.  I was able to do everything fairly close to the recipe, but when it came time to find canned Tomatillos, there were none to be found in my neck of the woods.  I could get my hands on some fresh ones, but preparing them would have taken too long and trying to mix them in as-is would have been way too sour and bitter.  Instead, I used Wegman’s Roasted Salsa Verde and held back on some of the water.

Turned out fantastic.  The cilantro as a garnish appealed to some, but not all, so the next time I serve it, I’ll probably do it as a make-your-own station kinda thing.  Good times were had by all and this one is going in my A+ book.

Leave a Reply

